Skip to main content
Hitachi Vantara Knowledge

Viewing SMB setup

Windows clients access the server through configured SMB names. Traditional Windows servers have a single host name. In environments where multiple Windows servers are being consolidated, the server can be configured with multiple SMB names.

In order to appear as a unique server on a Windows network, the server will do the following for each configured SMB name:

  • Allow administration through the Microsoft Server Manager (NT 4) or Computer Management (Windows 2000 or later) administrative tools.
  • Register each SMB name as a server with the domain Master Browser so each name appears as a unique server in Network Neighborhood.
  • Register each SMB name with DDNS and WINS for proper host name resolution.

You can view the SMB (CIFS) setup details in the NAS Manager.


  1. Navigate to File Services CIFS Setup to display the CIFS Setup page.


    The following table describes the fields on this page:

    Field/Item Description
    EVS Indicates the selected EVS. Click change to select another EVS.
    Security Mode The currently configured security mode of the EVS.
    Domain Name The name of the NT domain in which the server resides. The domain is set when the first CIFS name is added.
    ADS Domain The domain where the server is located.
    DDNS Indicates whether DDNS is enabled or disabled.
    NetBIOS When NetBIOS is enabled, it allows NetBIOS and WINS use on this server. If this server communicates by name with computers that use earlier Windows versions, this setting is required. By default, the server is configured to use NetBIOS. Click disable to disable NetBIOS.
    CautionBefore choosing to disable NetBIOS, verify that there is no need to use NetBIOS, WINS, or legacy NetBT-type applications for this network connection. If this server communicates only with computers that run Windows 2000, Windows XP, or Windows 2003, disabling NetBIOS will be transparent and may even result in a performance benefit.
    Configured CIFS Server Names
    CIFS Server Name A list of CIFS names added to the selected EVS.
    Mode Displays the mode for each CIFS serving name. Mode defines the authentication protocol used to communicate with the Windows network clients and domain controllers. The mode can be:
    • ADS: The ADS-style communication protocol (Kerberos) is used to communicate with the Windows clients and domain controllers.
    • NT4: The Windows NT 4-style communication protocol (NTLMSSP) is used to communicate with the Windows clients and domain controllers.
    Disjoint Indicates whether the DNS suffix matches the Active Directory domain primary DNS suffix.
    • no: There is no disjoint namespace between the DNS and ADS.
    • yes: There is a disjoint namespace between the DNS and ADS.
    add Opens the Add CIFS Server Names page, in which you can add server names.
    delete Deletes the selected CIFS server.
    Reboot or Shut Down Server Opens the Reboot or Shutdown Server page, which enables you to shut down or reboot a server, a cluster node, or an entire cluster.
    File System Security Opens the File System Security page, which displays all EVSs and the configured security mode.


  • Was this article helpful?