Skip to main content
Hitachi Vantara Knowledge

Disposition

Disposition is the automatic deletion of objects. Disposition can be enabled for:

  • Objects with expired retention periods. To be eligible for disposition, an object must have a retention setting that’s either:
    • A date in the past
    • A retention class with automatic deletion enabled that results in a calculated expiration date in the past
  • Objects flagged as replication collisions.

Disposition has the benefit of automatically freeing storage space for the creation of more objects. Without disposition, users need to explicitly delete qualified objects to free the occupied space.

Disposition deletes only the current version of a versioned object. It does not delete old versions.

Disposition is enabled on a per-namespace basis. When you create a namespace, this feature is disabled. You can change this setting at any time.

 

  • Was this article helpful?