Skip to main content
Hitachi Vantara Knowledge

Retention mode

Each object has a retention setting that specifies how long the object must remain in the namespace before it can be deleted; this duration is called the retention period. While an object cannot be deleted due to its retention setting, it is said to be under retention.

Retention mode is a property of a namespace that affects which operations are allowed on objects under retention. A namespace can be in either of two retention modes:

  • In compliance mode, objects that are under retention cannot be deleted through any mechanism. Additionally, the duration of a retention class cannot be shortened, and retention classes cannot be deleted. Similarly, the Minimum Retention after Initial Unspecified value cannot be shortened and cannot be deleted.
  • In enterprise mode, you can use the Tenant Management Console to delete objects under retention if you have the compliance role. This is called privileged delete.

    Also in enterprise mode, you can shorten the duration of a retention class, and you can delete retention classes.

    NoteUsers can perform privileged deletes in a namespace that’s in enterprise mode. To do this, however, they need the privileged data access permission.

The retention mode for a namespace is set when the namespace is created. You can change the retention mode of a namespace from enterprise to compliance mode but cannot do the reverse.

You can create namespaces in compliance mode only if allowed to do so by the tenant configuration. HCP system-level administrators can change this configuration from not allowing the creation of namespaces in compliance mode to allowing it. However, they cannot do the reverse.

 

  • Was this article helpful?