Skip to main content
Hitachi Vantara Knowledge

Shutting down and reestablishing all replication links

Shutting down replication links on an HCP system stops all activity on all links in which the system participates. You cannot shut down an individual link.

While links are shut down:

  • No replication or recovery activity occurs on the links.
  • The system where the links are shut down cannot read or repair objects from other HCP systems.
  • Other HCP systems cannot read or repair objects from the system where the links are shut down.
  • The system where the links are shut down can still service requests that are redirected from other HCP systems in the replication topology.
  • Objects ingested on the system where the links are shut down are not protected from system failure.
  • The system where the links are shut down is isolated in all erasure coding topologies that include the system. As a result:
    • Erasure-coded objects cannot be read from that system.
    • For a system in the active erasure coding topology, other systems in that topology cannot send full copies of object data or chunks for objects to that system. As a result, the topology protection status is broken on all systems in the topology.
  • You cannot change which HCP tenants and namespaces, default-namespace directories, and inbound links are included in the links in which the system participates.
  • An alert indicating that all links are shut down appears on the Overview page in the System Management Console for the system where the links are shut down.
  • A message indicating that all links are shut down appears at the top of the Replication page in the System Management Console for the system where the links are shut down.

You may want to shut down replication links, for example, if you need to temporarily dedicate as much network bandwidth as possible to applications that are unrelated to HCP. Additionally, your authorized HCP service provider may ask you to shut down all links for certain system upgrade scenarios.

When you shut down all replication links, you are required to specify a reason for the action.

To restart activity on replication links after you’ve shut them down, you need to reestablish the links. Reestablishing the links returns each link to the state it was in before you shut down the links. If a link was active when you shut down all links, it becomes active again when you reestablish the links. If a link was suspended when you shut down all links, it remains suspended when you reestablish the links.

Procedure

  1. In the top-level menu of the HCP System Management Console, select Services Replication.

  2. On the left side of the Replication page, click Settings.

  3. On the replication Settings page, take either of these actions:

    • To shut down all replication links:
      1. Click Shut Down All Links.

        The Shut Down All Replication Links window appears.

      2. In the Reason field, type the reason why you’re shutting down all links. This text can be up to 1,024 characters long and can contain any valid UTF-8 characters, including white space.
      3. Click Shut Down All Links.
    • To reestablish all replication links, click Reestablish All Links.

 

  • Was this article helpful?