The Disposition service automatically deletes expired objects.
An object is expired if either of these conditions is true:
- The object has a retention setting that’s a specific date and time, and that date and time is in the past.
- The object has a retention setting that’s a retention class, and the date and time calculated from the duration specified by the retention class is in the past. In this case, the Disposition service deletes the object only if the retention class has Disposition enabled.
The service deletes only the current version of a versioned object. It does not delete old versions.
The Disposition service is enabled or disabled both at the HCP system level and on a per-namespace basis. Enabling the service for a namespace has no effect if the service is disabled at the HCP system level.
By default, when the HCP system is first installed, the Disposition service is disabled at the system level.
The Disposition service runs according to the active service schedule. When the service runs, it checks each object to see whether the object is expired. If the object is expired, the service checks whether Disposition is enabled for the namespace that includes the object.
If an object is expired and in a namespace with Disposition enabled, the service hides the object data and metadata and marks the object for deletion. The Garbage Collection service then deletes the object through its normal processing. When applicable, the deletion triggers the Shredding service.