Skip to main content
Outside service Partner
Hitachi Vantara Knowledge

Using privileged delete


Namespaces in enterprise mode support privileged delete operations. Users and applications with the applicable data access permissions can perform these operations through the HTTP namespace access protocol, the HCP Search Console, and HCP Data Migrator. If you have the compliance role through your HCP user account or group accounts, you can perform these operations through the Tenant Management Console.

This chapter describes the privileged delete feature and explains how to use the Tenant Management Console to perform privileged delete operations.

For information on performing privileged delete operations through:

The HTTP protocol, see Using a Namespace.

The Search Console, see Searching Namespaces

HCP-DM, see Using HCP Data Migrator

© 2015, 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All rights reserved.

About privileged delete


Privileged delete is an HCP feature that enables you to delete objects even if they are under retention. This feature is available only for namespaces in enterprise mode. If a namespace is in compliance mode, you cannot delete objects that are under retention.

Privileged delete supports government regulations that require the destruction of certain types of data in response to changing circumstances. For example, companies may be required to destroy particular information about employees who leave. If that data is under retention, it cannot be deleted through normal delete operations.

If the namespace supports versioning, you can turn a privileged delete operation into a privileged purge operation. This deletes all versions of the target object.

When using privileged delete, you need to specify a reason for the deletion. The tenant log records all privileged delete operations, including the specified reasons, thereby creating an audit trail.

Using privileged delete, you can also delete objects that are not under retention. You would do this, for example, if you wanted to record the reason for an object deletion.

You cannot use privileged delete to delete objects that are on hold, regardless of their retention settings.

RoleWebHelp.png

Roles: To perform a privileged delete operation through the Tenant Management Console, you need the compliance role.

© 2015, 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All rights reserved.

Object specification


With privileged delete, you can delete only one object at a time. To specify the object, you need to include the full path to it in its namespace (starting after rest or data). The path must begin with a forward slash (/).

For example, to delete the Lee_Green_1254 object from the Corporate/Employees directory, you would specify:

/Corporate/Employees/Lee_Green_1254

Directory and object names are case sensitive. The separator is the forward slash (/).

Non-UTF-8 characters in directory and object names must be percent encoded. To avoid ambiguity, you should also percent-encode the characters listed in the table below.

Character

Percent-encoded value

Space

%20

Tab

%09

New line

%0A

Carriage return

%0D

+

%2B

%

%25

#

%23

?

%3F

&

%26

\ %5C

Percent-encoded values are not case sensitive.

© 2015, 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All rights reserved.

Performing a privileged delete


To use privileged delete to delete or purge an object:

1.In the top-level menu of the Tenant Management Console, click on Namespaces.

2.In the list of namespaces, click on the name of the namespace you want.

3.In the row of tabs below the namespace name, click on Compliance.

4.On the left side of the Compliance panel, click on Privileged Delete.

NoteWebHelp.png

Note: This option is present only if the namespace is in enterprise mode and your user account includes the compliance role.

5.In the Privileged Delete panel:

oIn the Object to Delete field, type the path to and name of the object you want to delete. For information on identifying objects for deletion, see Object specification.

oOptionally, select Purge all versions of this object to change the delete operation to a purge operation. This option appears only if versioning is enabled for the namespace.

oIn the Reason for Deletion field, type the reason why you’re deleting the object. This text must be from one through 1,024 characters long and can contain any valid UTF-8 characters, including white space.

6.Click on Delete This Object.

7.In response to the confirming message, click on Delete Object.

© 2015, 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All rights reserved.