Skip to main content
Outside service Partner
Hitachi Vantara Knowledge

Changing the default settings for namespace creation


When you open the Create Namespace panel to create a namespace, the panel shows default settings for many of the namespace properties. You can change the defaults for these settings at any time. Changing the default settings for namespace creation has no effect on existing namespaces.

RoleWebHelp.png

Roles: To view the default settings for namespace creation, you need the monitor or administrator role. To change the default settings for namespace creation, you need the administrator role.

To change the default settings for namespace creation:

1.In the top-level menu of the Tenant Management Console, select Configuration Namespace Defaults.

2.On the Namespace Defaults page:

oOptionally, in the Description field, type a new description. The description can be up through 1,024 characters long and can contain any valid UTF-8 characters, including white space. By default, this field is blank.

oOptionally, in the Hash Algorithm field, select a different cryptographic hash algorithm. The default is SHA-256.

oOptionally, in the Hard Quota field, type a new number of gigabytes or terabytes of storage to allocate to the namespace and select either GB or TB to indicate the measurement unit. The default is 50 GB. The maximum value you can specify is equal to the hard quota for the tenant.

oOptionally, in the Soft Quota field, type a new percent at which you want HCP to notify the tenant that free storage space for the namespace is running low. The default is 85.

oOptionally, under Replication, change the selection. The default is Off. The Replication option is present only if the tenant is allowed to create namespaces with replication enabled.

oOptionally, if you selected On for replication, select Allow erasure coding to allow HCP to use erasure coding to implement replication of the objects in the namespace. The Allow erasure coding option is present only if the tenant can manage erasure coding for namespaces.

When you select Allow erasure coding, if the Cloud Optimized setting is currently set to Off, the setting automatically changes to On.

oUnder Cloud Optimized, select:

On to optimize the namespace for cloud protocols only.

Off to optimize the namespace for all protocols.

When you select Off while Allow erasure coding is selected, that option is automatically deselected.

System default to use the system-level default protocol optimization setting that's current when you create a namespace.

The Cloud Optimized option is present only if the tenant is allowed to create namespaces with replication enabled.

oOptionally, under Retention Mode, change the selection. The default is enterprise mode.

The Retention Mode option is present only if the tenant is allowed to create namespaces in compliance mode.

oOptionally, under Search, change the selection. The default is Off.

The Search option is present only if the tenant is allows to create namespaces with search enabled.

oOptionally, in the Service Plan field, type the name of or select a different service plan. The default is the Default service plan.

The Service Plan field is present only if the tenant is allowed to associate service plans with namespaces.

oOptionally, under Versioning, change the selection. The default is Off.

The Versioning option and the pruning options below are present only if the tenant is allowed to create namespaces with versioning enabled.

oOptionally, change the selection for the Prune versions older than ... days option. By default, this option is unselected.

If you select this option, in the option field, type the number of days old versions of objects must remain in the namespace before they are pruned. Valid values are integers in the range zero through 36,500 (that is, 100 years). A value of zero means prune immediately.

For more information on the these settings, see Creating a namespace.

3.Click on Update Settings.

If the version pruning option is unselected, a confirming message appears.

In the window with the confirming message, select I understand to confirm that you understand the consequences of your action. Then click on Update Settings.

For information on valid values for the default settings for namespace properties, see Creating a namespace.

© 2015, 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All rights reserved.