Skip to main content
Outside service Partner
Hitachi Vantara Knowledge

Shutting down or restarting HCP


Shutting down HCP means shutting down the system and powering off the nodes. After shutting down HCP, you need to manually power the nodes back on to start it again.

Restarting HCP means shutting down and restarting the system without powering off the nodes.

While HCP is shut down or in the process of restarting, clients have no access to the data in it, and the System Management Console is unavailable.

Under normal operating conditions, you don’t need to shut down or restart HCP. However, situations where shutting down the system may be appropriate include:

You are physically moving the HCP system to another location and need to shut it down first.

You need to perform maintenance on the HCP power sources.

When you shut down or restart the HCP system, you are required to specify a reason for the action.

ImportantWebHelp.png

Important: Restarting HCP without shutting it down is very rarely necessary. If you believe you need to take this action, please contact your authorized HCP service provider before you do so.

RoleWebHelp.png

Roles: To shut down or restart the HCP system, you need the administrator or service role.

For information on shutting down and restarting individual HCP nodes, see Shutting down or restarting individual nodes.

© 2015, 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All rights reserved.

Shutting down HCP


When you shut down HCP, the hardware configuration determines whether the nodes power off automatically. To complete the action, you may need to power off each node manually after shutting down the system.

To ensure that HCP has enough time to shut down cleanly, wait a few minutes before powering nodes off manually. If a node is connected to a console, the console displays “System halted” when you can safely power off the node.

ImportantWebHelp.png

Important: If you shut down HCP while objects are being stored, the repository may then contain incomplete objects. Therefore, if possible, before shutting down HCP, you should notify all tenant administrators about the upcoming shutdown. The tenant administrators can then notify namespace users to suspend all client activity before the shutdown occurs.

NoteWebHelp.png

Note: If you take an entire SAIN system offline, including the storage array, you need to power the array and, if applicable, the Fibre Channel switches back on before powering on the nodes.

To shut down HCP:

1.In the top-level menu of the System Management Console, click on Hardware.

2.At the top of the Hardware page, click on Shut Down.

The Shut Down System window appears.

3.In the Reason field, type the reason why you’re shutting down the system. This text can be up to 1,024 characters long and can contain any valid UTF-8 characters, including white space.

4.Click on Shut Down System.

The nodes shut down HCP and, if possible, power off.

If HCP doesn’t shut down, please contact your authorized HCP service provider.

© 2015, 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All rights reserved.

Restarting HCP


Restarting an HCP system causes all the nodes in it to reboot. To restart HCP:

1.In the top-level menu of the System Management Console, click on Hardware.

2.At the top of the Hardware page, click on the Restart button.

The Restart System window appears.

3.In the Reason field, type the reason why you’re restarting the system. This text can be up to 1,024 characters long and can contain any valid UTF-8 characters, including white space.

4.Click on Restart System.

© 2015, 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All rights reserved.