These considerations apply to deleting replication links:
- You can delete a replication link in the HCP System Management Console for either system involved in the link.
- You can delete a replication link only while activity on the link is suspended.
- When you delete a replication link, replication on that link immediately stops. The HCP tenants and default-namespace directories on the link remain or become read-write on both systems involved in the link.
- You can delete a replication link that’s included as a chained link in a second replication link. When you do this, the HCP tenants and default-namespace directories that were on the deleted link are automatically included individually in the second link.
- After deleting an active/passive link, you can no longer replicate the HCP tenants and default-namespace directories included on that link to the same replica on an active/passive link unless you first delete them on the replica. If you don’t delete them, when you create a new active/passive link with the same replica, HCP doesn’t let you include them because they now exist on both systems.
If the possibility exists that you will want to replicate those tenants and directories again to the same replica on an active/passive link, you should either pause replication for the individual tenants or suspend activity on the link instead of deleting the link.
- After deleting an active/passive link, you can include the HCP tenants and default-namespace directories that were included on the deleted link in a new or existing active/active link. In this case, you do not need to delete those tenants and directories from the system that was the replica for the deleted link.
- A namespace can contain metadata-only objects on one or more systems in a replication topology. If you delete the only replication link that involves such a system, the data for those metadata-only objects becomes inaccessible from that system. In this case, to make the data accessible again:
- If the deleted link was active/active, recreate the link.
- If the deleted link was active/passive, recreate the link as an active/active link.
- You cannot delete a replication link that's part of an active or retiring erasure coding topology.
- You can delete a link that's part of a retired erasure coding topology.